Online CPD forum

My role involves course development and course management of CPD delivered online. I’m always interested in learning from others and sharing perspectives, so that the experience of participants can be enhanced through appropriate learning design and use of learning technologies. I’m looking for like-minded folk to come together, share ideas for designs and activities, raise questions … Continue reading Online CPD forum

Projects

Completed in previous roles in higher education. Funded project participation Automated camera-based lecture recording for Physics and Mathematics (Rapid Response Fund 2015-16). Video recording pilot in Department of Physics (Rapid Response Fund 2014-15). Widening participation for Social Policy (Widening Participation Initiative Fund 2013-14). Collaboration with external organisation to support teaching (Rapid Response Fund 2012-13). SPS … Continue reading Projects

Beyond the higher education bubble – a new role

Last month I took up a new role as Online CPD Coordinator for STEM Learning Ltd. at the National STEM Learning Centre. For the first time in my career I will be working outside of higher education. There are obvious similarities, in particular the opportunity to work closely with subject experts to create valuable learning … Continue reading Beyond the higher education bubble – a new role

September 2016 – Work review

Start of term is on the horizon and for support staff the preparation is in full swing to ensure we’re ready to handle the questions and calls when colleagues begin using the services and start teaching again. September always seems to have time available when the diary is reviewed in July and August, but quickly … Continue reading September 2016 – Work review

November 2015 – Work review

This month it’s flipping classrooms with a webinar on flipped learning pedagogy. I promoted the use of in-class technology to capture handwritten learning materials and create video learning resources. I also wrote up my top tips for creating videos for the flipped classroom teaching model. Flipping webinars I delivered the first of a two-part webinar … Continue reading November 2015 – Work review

September 2015 – Work review

September’s highlight was the ALT-C conference where I presented an extended paper intended to challenge the uncritical acceptance of lecture capture. The rest of September involved preparation for the start of the new academic year. Cornock, M. (2015). Justifying lecture capture: the importance of student experiences in understanding the value of learning technologies. Extended paper, #867, ALT-C … Continue reading September 2015 – Work review

August 2015 – Work review

August’s work review is a little late as the end of August and start of September has been busy. This month the York TEL Handbook launched, I’ve been getting my head round data tables and have been roaming the campus. And finally… I’e written and submitted my last piece of work for my MA. York TEL … Continue reading August 2015 – Work review

July 2015 – Work review

This month I have been mostly writing a handbook for technology-enhanced learning practice, exploring use cases for Collaborate and meeting up with a range of people across campus. Learning design for synchronous online activities I’m pushing the use case for Collaborate, our supported webinar (online seminar) tool, at the moment as there is potential to … Continue reading July 2015 – Work review

June 2015 – Work Review

This month I have been mostly making videos and talking to people. With a bit of feedback collecting too. In-class technology Following up on interest from teaching staff in being able to capture hand-written content using Replay, I spent a little time this month putting together some videos on how to use visualisers (document cameras) … Continue reading June 2015 – Work Review